After three weeks of being in the UK. My first trip out of the house and garden begins unpleasantly and highlights why I self attack on my choice of the Netherlands as a place to live.
The day ends with a fun evening enriched by amazing 'Austrian winter food' and far too much vodka and wine!
MB was singing low bass ina Rachmanivov concert. Saturday was in a small church in Amsterdam, Sunday is in St Bavus church on the big square in Haarlem.
As we approach the square from halfway down the street leading up to it amplified music booms through the buildings - at odds with the quaint olde worlde feel of the streets.
"I can't bear amplified busking." short discussion with my friend about my contentious opinions as we enter the square. The music is coming from a stage directly opposite the front of the church, at the side where we are people are streaming in.
"This must be for the Rachmaninov" I say at the raised eyebrows, surprised glances, double takes and rapid blinking we also stream into the church. It's really busy. There is a queue to pick up reserved tickets just past the toilets. The person in front of me is taking an age.
Two ladies exit the wc look through me and stand directly in front on me, ignoring all the people behind. I comment steadily, hearably and directed towards them only the last remark makes the woman behind - standing closest to me twitch
"Did they just walk out of the toilet and stand directly in front of me?" An affirmation from my companion
"That is incredibly rude isn't it?" another affiirmation
"And yes they are going to completely ignore me and push even more determinedly and directly in front of us.
"I guess they can't believe god ever intended them to stand behind a black person
"This is the kind of thing I did not miss in the UK.
I tell an anecdote about a man at a bus stop in Gloucester who asked me if I was waiting for the same bus before entering - I'd got there before him and even though he was considerably older than I and it was frees
The Dutch are just effin rude"
Their behaviour is so ignorant. It's pig ignorant
"That's what these two are pigs in posh clothing"
The church is paced 500+ people, the only other dark face is a small man in the choir. There are also three Japanese.
The noise from outside is so bad that one can hardly hear the choir. I had assumed that the church would have amazing acoustics - it doesn't. The levels of noise from outside is hugely disturbing; even when the amplified music stops (the concert is paused for 20 minutes while we wait for this to happen!) I end up leaving my seat and leaning against a pillar to really hear the music.
Bloody Dutch couldn't organise a piss up in a brewery - who booked the concert? Who booked the gig on the square? Isn't there anyway to check and confirm that? Don't they know that you can hear every sound from outside from within the church? (probably their way of checking that everyone came - more of the social control.)
To add insult to injury it's effing freezing, had to do up my coat, put on my gloves and use my kidney warmer to lean against the stone.
The best thing about the concert after the music is the free vodka I think I managed to get about 5 in.





No comments:
Post a Comment